Going back to October 2010, 3 months after my dx my head was still in pieces and one big thing swimming round was "work" . I just didnt know what to do about it, wheather to carry on as long as possible or to retire due to health and do as many fun,exciting and enjoyable things as i could till i am housebound. Family and friends just wanted me to call it a day, but its a hader decision than most people would think.

So i decided to get outside opinions.


I have been a member of a fishing forum for quite some time and thought i would get a few opinions off them guys. I posted a brief description of my situation and how i was after a bit of outside advice, which i got plenty of and turned out to be very helpful. Obviously a few questions came back as to what my "illness" was. I was a bit dubious at first to say what it was but in the end i gave in after a couple of MS sufferers on there thought it was that. The responce was very supportive, the guys on there are a great bunch.

Anyway the thread fizzled away and banter and laughs carried on as normal.


Then on the 17th of December i recieved this private message=

I read your thread a few months ago about the desicion you were facing about quiting work and it really got me thinking. I wanted to do something to help so I did a run around tatton park 10 times a few weeks ago to raise some money.
It took me 9 hours to complete the run and ive raised a few hundred pounds and have a little more to collect. when ive got it all I will get it to you to spend as you see fit. ( maybe a fishing holiday!!)
hope this will help a bit.


There was also full contact details included.

Now what do you say to something like that? I was stunned and didnt know what to say, is this a wind up? no cant be surely? why would someone do this for a person they have never spoken to or met before?

I checked his profile out and looked at previous posts, he had commented on the thread i started in October and all seemed genuine. After a day or two i sent a txt message to the number left in the private message, got a responce almost straight away telling me all hte details and how he just wanted to do something to help. This is just Unbelievable, i never even thought their were people out there that would do stuff like this. Contact has been continuous upto today, asking where id like to meet, have a drink and give me the money he has raised. I go on sunday with a friend to meet this guy and his wife. The amount he has raised is a lot more than stated in the PM, im just gobsmacked. What do i say at all?


Ive not decided what i would do with the money as i dont feel i deserve it! I never posted on the forum to get financial support, or any support really, just advice.

There are some truley amazing people out there we just dont hear about.



Leave a Reply.


Fighting My Losing Battle with MND.